LNER de luxe

Mum and I lunch at Wendy’s Community Cafe in Great Bedwyn. Quiet, by the old croquet green, frequented by locals and passers by. Today there’s a coconut and cashew soup or bean burger with salad. Yum

Several trains to get to Paddington, where I meet, by chance, a gent on his way back from the Global Scrum Gathering in Denver.

My next hour is spent finding smidge for Megs, packaging it up, and sending it off to the USA, airmail. The customs declaration reads “anti mosquito hair conditioner”.

Back at Kings Cross I buy my tea at M&S. Then I discover that I’ve booked myself into first class, so food and drink is provided. More drink than food tbh. I work, read, listen as we chug up the country until we get north of Morpeth. Then there are some delays.

First it’s a fault level crossing which holds us up for a few minutes. Next there’s something, unspecified, on the line. We’re only delayed by half an hour, but it’s enough time for them to do another round with the drinks trolley. It’s also long enough for me to be eligible for a 50% refund on the fare :)

Owen meet me outside the station and transports me home for much needed sleep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.