Chapel Fell circuit

You get plenty of elevation for your pedal stroke here! I had the tense time of waiting for Rich to complete today’s circuit before having my turn outdoors. It seemed windy and cold. And Rich wasn’t quick. This could only mean one thing… I’d be even less quick!

Rich did say it was one of his best rides though and the wind didn’t bother him much. So off I trundled. 

The sun was out nicely now and the wind in a good direction for a fair amount of shelter. The roads were cracking! We’d come in on the first one so I knew a little of what to expect even though it was in reverse. As I paused to look back for this photo, I disturbed a couple of snipe (I think) and there was plenty more bird life around too. 

It was downhill to Newbiggin, into the wind, which might have slowed me down but was the perfect gradient to face a headwind. I’d plotted a silly little extra hill that has no need to be done again as it’s ticked and doesn’t really deserve repeating, before heading back over Newbiggin Common which was a wild and wonderful road (and amazingly, sheltered. I thought Rich might have just not wanted to put me off!) The slightly broken tarmac in the middle section made the black smoothness of road all the better when it cut in on the way down. 

And finally, a tailwind again for the slightly uphill home - what could be better!

Little Dog waited patiently for her turn and we all enjoyed a slow meander to Wearhead along the river and back, finding lots of wildflowers including a scattering of orchids.

I’ve somehow convinced Rich to cook tea - I have a ride sorted for tomorrow but I’m not sure my legs are listening. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.