Two shirts

It’s June and I could have worn my winter jacket! 

Instead, I was layered up with two cycling shirts, arm warmers, autumn jacket, gilet and, to start with, windproof (to get down the hill without shivering.)

The hills started pretty swiftly though and I was soon warming up on the steepest of the three hills on today’s agenda (the one Rich will say, nearly broke him!) It was great to be on the other side of the valley and seeing a new set of views. Near the top of the first hill, a leveret was enjoying some roadside flowers and a little beyond that, I started to descend and a dash of sun made its first appearance, so I made a point of saving the moment.

It felt beautifully desolate. 

The next imposing zig and zag was straight in front and I made my way down to the bottom of the hill before engaging super slow for the ride back up and over to Rookhope. 

I’ve been here before and recognised the solitary arch from a distance before the final new hill caught my eye. With my legs on form but not fast, I enjoyed a slow meander to the top where it was an about turn and miles of glorious descending to Eastgate.

Again, the wind wasn’t too strong and even better, now was tailwind time, albeit on an upward trend home. 

I didn’t have to remove a single layer after my windproof came off, but neither was I ever cold. Zip management was all it took to  occasionally let a bit of cool air in. It’s been a spectacular couple of hours. Rich next and my turn for a leisurely chill out, shower and stretch with a certain Little Dog for company.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.