Paw paw

Our village greengrocer sometimes has paw paws for sale and we can’t resist them. We have a quarter each for Saturday and Sunday breakfasts. They remind us of when we lived in Kenya in the 1970s. The uninspiring outside is hiding this spectacular sight when they are cut, with the beautiful pinky orange flesh and the shiny black seeds.
We had a visitor this afternoon. This pretty little iridescent beetle was basking in the sunshine on the carpet. I captured it under a glass vase and then looked it up in a reference book. I didn’t think it was quite as attractive when I discovered it was a rose chafer and it likes to eat rose flowers! Nevertheless I released it in the garden, hoping it won’t do too much damage. I’ve put it in extra, where there is also a poppy which also appeared uninvited in my garden. What a hospitable garden I have!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.