Wild Carrot Wasp

I've never photographed the delicate insect above before. At first I thought it was a Gasteruption jaculator, which I have blipped on one occasion. I think this is Gasteruption assectator, the wild carrot wasp, which is a parasite of Hylaeus bees. As it happens I was searching for these diminutive masked bees today. I'm guessing that this is a male as it has no ovipositor. The ovipositors of this species are quite short in comparison with the very long, white-tipped ones of Gasteruption jaculator.

I have photographed and blipped robber flies bearing nuptial gifts before but never such an extravagant gift. The robber fly in extras has presented his mate with a glistening gold, male, yellow-barred longhorn moth, whose antennae are five times the length of its body. The female robber fly is sucking on the innards of the moth while mating takes place. The moth's antennae are dangling below them. 

I saw my first skipper butterfly of 2022 today but didn't manage to capture it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.