'I DO'

Finally, after two (COVID-19 restricted) years, Son and Rani got married.  I am crying as I type this, even as I shed tears during the ceremony.

It was a beautiful day, most especially for them.  Rani wanted 'some' sun and got more than she asked.  We assembled at 12.30, the wedding family arrived at 13.10.  Son walked with AW's ex to the front, Rani was walked down the garden aisle by her father.  AW and I, though, got our fair share of acknowledgements, AW quiet and deeply reflective during the whole thing.  The divorce 40 years ago was hateful and ugly, and he and Son suffered the most.  That is all behind us, thankfully, but the scars are nonetheless visible still.  I do not know if AW's ex was ever aware of the misery she had caused.  Son has lovingly maintained a very warm relationship with AW and we look forward to a continuation of that.

Today was their day -- Son, Rani, Nani, Flynn.  After they had exchanged their vows, even before the witnesses were called to sign the marriage certificate, the children had to affix their signatures, too, and you could see the proud smiles on their faces that Paps and Mams were finally 'properly' joined, and that they were part of it all happening.  Flynn burst into tears at one point -- tears of happiness, as mine were.  He hugged both his parents tight.  Both he and Nani had been feeling some stress as well, worried that they would have to go through yet another postponement, and Nani even imagined that either parent might back out at the last minute.  But they were beautiful and glowing today.

After the ceremony, everyone congratulated the parents, including us, and AW's ex shook our hands as well.  A nice bit was when Daughter and SIL, whom we hadn't really spoken to in more than 10 years, also approached us and we greeted one another, all genuine smiles.  That bit of ice broken, SIL, whom I'll call Moose (he really is called that by some!), had a quiet unrehearsed chat with AW, saying that it was about time his own children got to know who their grandfather was/is.  About time, too!

The 'core group', which of course included us, spent the afternoon 'hanging around', and there was a seemingly endless cycle of cake and drinks.  The sun took a break as well (boooo!!!) but thankfully no rain.  Then, around dinner time, no formal dining inside, but, instead, a hearty barbecue with sausages, hamburgers, and steak, plus fresh fruit, vegetable and potato salads, and even fish, with a generous supply of French bread and herb butter.  Afterwards, the grown-ups drove all their children home, except for Nani and Flynn, of course, as Son and Rani had planned a very late wee-hours type party.  The children had enjoyed a bouncy 'castle' the whole afternoon, so were only too glad to leave after the dinner.  The late party took place inside and there was a 'dance till you trance' atmosphere.  Many other guests who had not been invited to the ceremony now arrived, so the place was fairly full, with cake and drinks for these new arrivals.  The two kids found it fabulous that for once they did not have to go to bed early.

While we were all enjoying the music, 9-year-old Nani kept busy with her own photography project -- in groups, we had to pose with silly placards and props while she took our pictures.  She used her father's Canon.  She was very professional and neat and serious about this, and we all did what she asked.  That is somebody who has the guts and brain of a manager -- 'Choose one of these, wear one of these, stand here and face me.  Smile.'  And she did it all with no grown-up supervision.  It was only when she was completely done that she joined the dancing.  She has always wanted to be a dentist.  The way she is going right now, she could also easily manage a business.

We left close to midnight.  AW continued to be quiet and reflective the whole evening.  No tears, but I could tell he was feeling emotional.  So so many years of having been denied so many pleasures... and there is no turning back the clock.  I told him once, 'It's you and me now.  You are not going back.  Now, we move forward together.'  

The only sour point in my day -- during the ceremony, I tripped on the white 'aisle' rug on my way to take a shot from another angle.  I hurt my left knee horribly, but, worse, the fall took me completely by surprise and I could not protect my poor camera from hitting the ground.  I had not let go of it but all of me went down, including my hands.  The lens was now immovable for focus and I could not click.  On AW's suggestion, I phoned the insurance company and they will pay for a replacement or repair, but I have to produce the receipt from the shop.  I told them this might not be possible as the warranty had run out (it was bought in Norway) and I had chucked the papers soon after the end date.  Never mind, even a bank or credit card statement will do.  Something for Monday.  Good thing I managed to take some shots before 'the dive'.

Son was born around the time my own dear Max would have breathed his first breath.  I lost one son, I gained another.  My dear, dear Son, I wish you all the joy and love in the world -- you and Rani and the kids.  Love from your Ellaphant.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.