The 'Zwakkenburger Molen', Niezijl

'Niezijl' sounds like 'Nie-zile'.

'Zwakkenburger' is not a kind of hamburger.  It is, instead, the name of the polder which this windmill is maintaining, and it has been doing this since it was built in 1865.  Since a few years ago, though, a little diesel engine inside has been helping when there is not enough wind.  Plucky little thing!

According to the windmill websites, it was supposed to be Open Day today for the Groningen windmills.  According to many individual sites, though, many millers elected not to join.  This one was closed.  Not that I minded.  I am hardly in Groningen because it is so far away.  On the way there, which took some three hours, I found myself on the motorways I used to drive, such as the A6 and A7, when I was still working with the Dutch police and had to attend meetings and exams in Leeuwarden and Drachten, those days when I left our old house at 05.00 so that I could catch breakfast in Joure at 07.00, take an extremely short nap, and arrive on time for the meetings or exams, which began at 08.30.  Those were long days.  While I do not miss the work any more, I do sometimes miss the drives and the views, so I took my time on the road, all the while singing with ABBA.  On the way back, I drove southward on the other motorway, the A28, which stretches about 150 km. from the city of Groningen all the way to Utrecht, another familiar route.  When I got back home, I was ready for a very late dinner.

In case anyone is wondering what camera I used after yesterday's faux pas, simple -- my old one!

AW was not interested in coming along, but that was okay.  He is always welcome and he knows it.  We take advantage of fair weather in different ways.  Speaking of which, I believe the sun will shine abundantly for a whole week!  I do hope so.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.