She said YES

Very early start this morning as I had to be at the start line by 6 and fortunately I woke up
Just before my alarm went off. I managed to get out of the house without waking Phin up and had an east quiet drive down the bypass.

The main task this morning was checking in the riders who had registered to take part in either the Classic (105km) or nouveau (58km) races. We were slightly hampered by the strong winds which threatened to blow each set of paperwork away but we managed! By 8.20 they were all on the road and we (7 volunteers and 3 charity staff) got time for bacon rolls and much needed teas.

At 9, Caroline and I were driven to the second feeding station to hand out bananas, chocolate biscuits and porridge bars and let them top up their water. It was fun when the sun came out! We were beside the Union canal and I spotted at least 2 boats going past in the time we were there.

Back to the start/finish line by 1 and I said my goodbyes and headed home for lunch and to get organised to head in for A’s bridal dress appointment. Mr PHL kindly dropped me off and as I was a little early I popped into the Shelter charity shop where I was lucky to find a lovely as new navy, knee length dress with pockets for £10. Bargain.

The dress shopping went so well that A bought the second dress she tried on. It’s simple, A line and suits her beautifully and will also be easy to transport to Florida for the wedding. Pictures to follow in November! We went to a nearby Italian restaurant where the service was eclectic but the food was tasty.

Home to continue baking crochet squares and heading for an early night as I’m kind of tired.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.