Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Over the rainbow ...

Sundays - or any other day, come to think of it, readily identified by the activities associated with one day rather than another - seem to come round ever more rapidly these days - and yes, I've said just this before, with clever literary references to H G Wells's The Time Machine, but it's even more pronounced now! Anyway, that was Sunday, that was - a cracking sermon from one of our scientist Lay Readers, a great blether at the back of the church afterwards, with the participation of a couple of American visitors spending time touring before a week's retreat on Iona, including interesting comparisons of what precisely we mean by the word "prayer" ... 

The three of us leaving for Lewis and our own retreat tomorrow made our final arrangements (including an early start), my pal Di came round for coffee despite the late hour, I nibbled chocolate cake and a bit of bread and mango curd instead of lunch (I know!), I read the horror stories that make up the news part of The Observer. Then I finished most of my packing (all divvied up in bags that I can cope with myself) and we had a brief walk round the block before dinner. By that time the weather was less appalling than it had been, and there was even a wonderful low - if slightly faint - rainbow over the East Bay (blipped). I was delighted when I looked at the photo above on the desktop to see that a seagull was soaring just above it ...

Blips will probably be a tad terse over the next few days when I'm back to doing them on my phone. I hope I'll have some interesting photos to make up for that. Meanwhile, I'll settle for fair winds on the Minch, and not too vigorous.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.