Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Blushing unseen

Today was so miserable as regards weather that I can't bear to post the one photo I took that actually had sky in it - despite the odd bright moment, there was a great deal of gloom and heavy rain, and the wind that by now has removed most of the blooms that were so scented last week and scattered them over the grass. We even lit the candles at dinner because it was so excessively gloomy outside - I was thinking that at least if it had been in November it would have been dark enough at dinner not to see how horrid it was.

After my early start yesterday I was excessively slow getting up today, but after I surfaced I washed some clothes that all had to be dried indoors and got my case down to start packing for my trip north next week. A text message from our friend Clare in Lewis informed me that it was 10º outside but felt colder in the wind, which meant I was rootling out a winter fleece hoodie and shoving all my warm tops into a tote bag because my case is too small. 

Despite my reminding myself that having a walk every day regardless of weather is not actually mandatory, I found myself walking up to the church in the late afternoon to meet Himself, who'd gone to play the organ, and having a shot of my own new car to drive us home. I'm happy to say that today it felt much more like my car ...

Last crazy footnote: This evening, feeling that I'd been getting stressed again, I decided to watch some nonsense and stayed with the second Jurassic Park movie that happened to be just starting at the time. Bad move: I now feel ten times worse. Have I transferred my reaction to the news that Covid figures in Scotland are rising again, thanks to the latest variant, into becoming excessively involved in the killing properties of leaping dinosaurs? 

Blipping the stinking lilies, which despite the lack of sun the last few days have decided to open and curl back their petals. They were leaping about madly in the wind - it's the miracle of the iPhone triple lens camera that I managed to capture them at all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.