Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Wild

Today we learned what it was like to be in the path of the remains of a tropical storm, and despite what Sally thought about warm rain I can reliably assure her it was more in the way of a (relatively) warm wind that battered us today. The rain was occasionally absolutely torrential, but to my legs it was wet enough to make them cold - this afternoon I was soaked through when I was caught in it.

I was out early for an appointment - I had to leave my second cup of tea unfinished - and just had time to have another one before we were out again, this time to shop for Himself when I'm away next week as well as the next three days. It was a relatively modest shop in terms of purchases but easily cost the same as my usual trolley-load of a few months ago, and some of the shelves were absolutely empty. I'm hoping it was just that Friday's a bad day to shop.

Himself spent the afternoon closeted with a nice man from BT Openreach who turned up - Yay! an actual engineer! - to fix our non-functioning land line which sounded to callers as if it was ringing but was in fact completely silent. There was nothing I could add to the party, so I took myself for a walk round the block (well - a two mile circuit of the back of the town and round by West Bay to come home) and came home wet through. 

I've been poleaxed all evening, finding it quite hard to concentrate on anything.  I'm blipping a typical view of the Victorian aspect of this town, many of whose houses were built for the holiday homes of Glasgow merchants. I'm also adding a couple of extras of the editorial comment and a news story about Dunoon Grammar School's latest award, in the Scotsman,  just because I actually bought a paper copy today. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.