Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Rain ...

I can't remember when we last had rain. I think I may have been along Loch Eck side with Di - or was it in Glen Massan? I had to put my hood up for a bit ...then. And since then it's been dry, and today was hot and sunny until just before I made dinner, when I looked out and saw heavy, distinct splodges of rain falling and heard a distant rumble to the south. But the grass in the foreground of my photo today shows the unlikely state it's in, as much of the verge areas are around here. 

I spent the morning doing catch-up things: checking my sermon for the last time and printing it; ditto my blurb on Leonard Cohen (safely in my music folder), doing a washing and hanging it out; having a wee practice sing to see how my high notes are faring. We had lunch in the garden. I stayed awake...

And then I went for a catch-up with Di, who's been away all last week. I had much to unload, and she had a holiday to share. We walked - in sandals, so very slowly - along the road to the far end of Blairmore, on the side of a Mediterranean-looking Loch Long (in the photo, with foxgloves!) and blethered. We ended up back at her house and blethered some more over some tea. We let her man and her dogs join in. And then I drove home, singing an experimental Sanctus just because I could remember it. 

The rain arrived very suddenly before we'd put away the chairs that rust inside the legs and make rusty puddles on the patio, but we dried them off with paper towels and the sun that reappeared before tucking them safely away under their cover. The rain returned just as we finished. 

Crossed fingers for the survival of my voice tomorrow and the two ferries that are required to get us to our gig. One of them is a CalMac ferry ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.