Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Back on Boogie Street*

Today's been a whirlwind - a whirlwind in Mediterranean temperatures. Last night's heavy rain had stopped by the time I got up, and before we knew it the sun was out again and we were off - first to church, where I preached in the lay-led service as well as experimenting with my high Ds in the hymns to see how they were faring. Then it was off again, the two of us in one car, my neighbour in 8+1 in another, her sister in a third, to Western Ferries terminal to join a queue of cars that stretched out along the road there were so many people travelling. But the ferries worked the magic we've come to expect from them, and we were onboard and sailing only 15 minutes later than we'd originally hoped.

The Millport ferry was strangely non-busy; we wondered if everyone had gone earlier. There was a huge queue on the island waiting to leave, but we were fine, we were at the Cathedral in no time, the singers all turned up. And the concert? It went down a bomb. We sang, and it seemed we sang well, and the applause was sustained and people smiled, and our friend Chis, the organist there, announced that it was quite something to hear such in-tune singing. 

Himself and I stayed on the island long enough to be taken out for our tea by Chis - to a lovely cafe serving really quite posh nosh and lovely chilled white wine, where we bumped into Himself's nephew whom we haven't seen for ages. We were home by 8.30pm; I've made sandwiches for tomorrow (don't ask) and cleaned out the thermos flasks and had a cuppa and ... and...

I've used one of my photos of the cathedral again, just because it's special to me, but I'm adding an extra of Millport itself, just to give a context for people who don't know the kind of place that houses this gem of a building. It was a glorious evening; my watch tells me it's still 18ºC outside at 23.12 and I'm so tired I may fall asleep in the shower. Better go ...

*We sang this song of Leonard Cohen's, along with his 'Anthem.'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.