Living my dream

By Mima

Another of those days…

…except today we whooshed into town to do a few things instead of whiling away the morning in the study.

I have been a keen user of the public library everywhere I have lived. As a kid I went to the Bromborough village library (a wooden hut) each week with Mum, where I excitedly - and with a great sense of importance - exchanged my wee library cards for books. I consumed books.

It set me on my feet for a lifetime of literary-led learning, entertainment and escapism. I still consume books.

Over the weekend the Waitaki Library alerted me to two books ready to pick up, and I had another to return. I love the fact I can put a hold on books and receive an email when they are available for me. It saves the disappointment of not finding anything I really want on my weekly visits.

The library website also invites us to suggest books to acquire which I use with great enthusiasm. They haven’t declined any of my ideas so far.

One such was “The Good Ancestor “ which I mentioned yesterday, which I am enjoying very much. While it is written with great accessibility, it is nevertheless stretching and sometimes pummelling my brain.

The current chapter is about the concept of time being linear these days; whereas to ancient cultures (pre-time-piece and the imposition of working hours) time was (and in some places in the world still is) cyclical. I’m still trying to get to grips with it.

It’s just as well the wintery weather is set to continue, giving me plenty of time to exercise my brain, if not my body so much.

Jeaniebean has had two big walks, in between sojourns beneath a blanket or two.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.