Living my dream

By Mima

Chat

Most Kiwis on rural properties have piles of logs and trimmed branches stacked here and there to dry off before being split for firewood. This is one such stack at friends’ place, made from a poplar tree which was felled a few months ago.

Day two of raking and then picking up leaves in K’s garden was uneventful. The crazy dog hadn’t spread yesterday’s piles around, for which I was grateful. The main delay was a long blather when K decided we needed a cup of coffee and a break in the sun. I didn’t resist.

Another long blather took place over a cup of tea with the soapmaker, who Bean and I walked past while he worked in his garden after lunch. Again, I didn’t resist.

A pleasantly sociable day, only slightly spoilt by my laptop suddenly refusing to recognise the printer. I  tried all sorts of things to get them to talk to each other, but I lost the will to live after half an hour. To mix my metaphors, life is too short…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.