Stonehaven

At 7:48 I gave the harbour tower a shout over VHF asking permission to exit the harbour. We’re quite busy said a couthy wee voice, it’ll be twenty minutes. No problem, I chirped, I’ll await your instructions. Aye, bloody right. Busy?? There was hee haw going on. Thank gawd they haven’t put a bloody jobsworth in charge of harbour operations in Oban or nobody would move. Half an hour… nothing. I called back, all sweet. We’ve a supply vessel coming in he says, ten minutes and I’ll get you under way. Ten to bloody nine and we got the nod. Off we sailed across a deserted harbour and out into an empty sea. Wee effing shite.
Annoyed, me? Never am. Anyway, that tide took us south and we actually managed a good sail after the motor was silenced.
Into Stonehaven. The Ship Inn where I sat in student days playing asteroids in the bar at a table. Happy days. Then, and now, actually. Mostly. Gobshite.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.