Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Newborough & Ynys Llanddwyn Island

Despite this being our seventh visit to HPB Henllys, we had never visited Newborough, so as we’ve been making an effort this time to visit new places, today was the day. 
We arrived as the tide was going out so there was no trouble walking to the island of Llanddwyn. It’s a lovely place with lots of birds - pipits, stonechats, wheatear, swallows, kestrels and a large flocks of noisy oystercatchers that were relaxing on the beach - you can see them in my blip. We were also able to both see and hear a number of seals that were relaxing off the little island. I will add a shot of them in extras shortly. 
On the other side of the island offshore was another small island with approximately 1% of the UK population of cormorants. 
We had a lovely picnic and I’m sure it was far less busy than if we had visited at the weekend. We will definitely come again, and next time I’ll bring a lens that works properly. My 16-300mm lens was not focussing properly so I’ll need to get it looked at when I get back. I like that lens as an alternative to my long zoom when my shoulder is playing up and it’s very versatile too. 

Back at Beaumaris, we were surprised to find a parking space on the high street right next to the Red Boat Ice Cream parlour, so it would have been rude not to have one - Raspberry ripple for me and Sherry Trifle for hubby :) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.