Šaltibarščiai

Mondays...

The day was going well until late morning, when I managed to get something (a sock, maybe) lodged in the hose part of the vacuum cleaner. After much head scratching, some "how to" videos on YouTube, and a lot of bad words, I had to accept defeat. 

Next step was to order a new hose from Henry's dad. 

Early afternoon I phoned the gastro pub in Edinburgh which I booked last week for meeting friends for lunch tomorrow. One of them has called off. I was told the manager has just decided their kitchen will be closed on Sunday, Monday and Tuesday lunchtimes from now on.

Staffing problems.   

That led to various messages and calls to set up a Plan B - easier said than done since my friend was driving down the A9 from Grantown at the time. 

In between, I got most of the housework done and a bit of gardening too, plus Junior popped in to collect a pair of goalkeeper gloves. (He plays football and floor hockey in the summer.) He looks quite managerial in his work clothes, although in my day (old f*rt alert) managers would iron their shirts. 

Then came dinner, and a Lithuanian summer specialty - šaltibarščiai. It is a cold soup made with kefir, beetroot, cucumber, lemon juice, spring onions, hard boiled egg and dill. I had some in Rīga last week, and it was a pale imitation of the real thing, but it reminded me to make some for myself. 

 

  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.