Old Slow Joe!

That's what I call my ASUS laptop, which I've had for five years. Computers are pretty reliable nowadays but their problem tends be in a lack of keeping themselves up to date with technology, so you have to change them before they are really worn out!
In the case of the ASUS I think the CPU was just overburdened with updating of apps which demanded more and more computing power. It wasn't a top of the range, sooper-dooper, laptop to start with but it was adequate for what I do.
However, as it got slower and slower, to carry out tasks, our IT whizz kid Son, Daniel, updated Marlanes 'old' computer to make it super fast (and it certainly did), while Marlane got a new laptop.
However, again, when Marlane was using it there was a strange noise at times. This got worse when I started to use it and we (Daniel and I) thought it sounded like a fan. When I restarted the laptop it came up with a warning that a component was failing, accompanied with a loud alarm sound reminiscent of the 1960's Nuclear Attack alarm.
The noise has now stopped but other symptoms prompted me to restart again and the warning was more specific in that the CPU fan had failed, hence the lack of noise. I felt underneath and it was very hot!
I've set Daniel off on the trail of how to fix it so 'Watch this Space'. In the meantime I'm back using 'Old Slow Joe' as I have named the slower ASUS laptop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.