Life through my eyes

By Amanda_T

Summer of '69

I almost couldn't Blip this today as the colour and sunshine were so wonderful (see extra).  It's the dragonfly pond that I took Dad to after lunch.  He had come down after table tennis for help with a zoom meeting and didn't quite get that we had to go at 13:30 when Sue got here, and thought we could just go afterwards, or not go at all.  I did put my foot down as a) I wanted to go out and have a change of scenery and b) I wanted to at least get a reference photo for my next landscape assignment (it will be this one but colour).  Once that was established we did a bit of computer training for him.  He was a bit upset as I have the resin curing with Mum's roses on the worktop, so he didn't speak to Mr T.  Mr T was so patient but Dad ignored him again, and Mr T did ask why he didn't say hello.  How can this be solved .... ?

I had the meeting with the councillors this morning, one other carers rep and our manager.  It was supposed to be just the councillors but the lady who sits on the advisory team was there and we felt a bit "spied on".  However we stuck to the content we'd agreed and hammered home that they needed to do everything possible to allow carers short breaks.  They were very receptive, and Susy said we both gave them problems and solutions which is exactly what they wanted.  Now we have to wait until September to see their report and what recommendations they make to South Glos Council.

So the theme of my Blip is Summer of '69 (even though I wasn't born) as I had my guitar lesson tonight too.  Technology is amazing as Bruno has been back in Brazil for the last two weeks as his dog was ill, and hasn't survived, but lessons continue as normal.  I couldn't practice much last week as the hand wound wasn't healed enough.  Now it's better but the flappy skin around the edges is annoying!  My song to learn this week is another 12 bar blues, For You Blue by The Beatles.

Thank you to PHL for hosting MM.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.