Grass

No-mow May somehow slid into no-time June, and much of the garden is a meadow of waving, seeding grass. It's a mess, with an overwhelming number of urgent jobs we don't have time for, but the grasses are so pretty and varied, in so many shapes and hues, that it's also a delight, especially early and late in the day when the light shines through it. 

This morning I returned to Canterbury to pick up my new reading glasses. I was outside at opening time and it was all very quick, so I was back home in plenty of time to sign J's online wellbeing and relaxation session. I didn't pause to take any photos - Specsavers is in a modern shopping street, one of the less picturesque parts of the city, and I didn't have time to look for anything other than a bland street view. This afternoon, I managed a few jobs outside - netted the redcurrants and protected the gooseberries, picked a box of rhubarb to avoid it encroaching any further on the salad potatoes, and watered everything in the greenhouses and many of the recently planted vegetables; then realised I hadn't taken any photographs. Much of the garden was already in deep shade, but grass and leaves were backlit by low sun which illuminated their textures and details.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.