Most hated

These are two of my father's most hated garden weeds: groundsel, which used to seed prolifically all over his vegetable garden and is now doing the same in mine, and, in the extra, plantain, narrow or ribleaf plantain, which used to pop up to dot the surface of our lawns. I took the camera and macro lens with the final can of water, at around seven, and tried some shots of the flowers on the broad and French beans and the rather pretty potato flowers, but it's again the weeds which glowed in the evening sun.

It's been a beautiful day, sunny and warm with a breeze. I should have used the macro lens to record the tiny grey aphids which swarmed in fluffy masses in the curled new leaves of my beautiful cauliflower plants, but I didn't feel inclined to honour them with a photo. I spent a long time trying to wash them all off with warm water, a spot of detergent and an old toothbrush, then moved them into quarantine on the balcony, away from other brassica plants. I will have to monitor them closely

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.