Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

'tis but a weed...

They say a weed is simply a wild flower in the wrong place.  This was in the wrong place, but it isn't any more.

I've been saying I should weed the garden for a while and today was the day.  It wasn't awful, but since the garden was done a few small ones have seeded and quite a few bigger ones have grown that must already have been in the topsoil.  It's taken virtually all day but I've got them all out and also dug out a few small clumps of grass with the root attached.  With a bit of luck, until all the plants grow into the spaces around them, I should just need to do some gentle hoeing.

I was surrounded by bees all day but they didn't bother me and I didn't bother them.  As I was settling down to admire my work a bee landed on this one which I had missed.  The flower is only about half a centimetre across and I think it's rather pretty, but despite that it's now in the compost bin.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.