B is for Bentley

Rather a gloomy day, but I had to walk down to the town for a brief meeting about a Keep Oban Beautiful matter. On the way back I passed a couple putting the cover over this beautiful Bentley and stopped for a chat. The man told me that it was a 1951 model which had originally been a saloon, but after a fire it was converted into a sports version which went on to have quite a successful racing career. 
 
I asked him about the engine capacity and he said that it was 'approaching 7 litres'. This made me ask about the fuel consumption and he had to admit that it averaged around 8 miles per gallon - this is why he had two extra fuel tanks on the back!
 
A few minutes later I was passed by two more Bentleys which turned onto the North Pier, so of course I had to go after them - see extra. They were having difficulty in finding parking spaces so eventually had to move on.  It turned out that they were friends who had decided to come up on holiday from Nottingham. Another friend had a beautiful E-Type Jaguar. A great day out for the boys!

A beautifully sunny evening to the day up here on Oban Hill - and I managed to put another six 6 panes into the glasshouse!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.