horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

E.T.

Movie Reference 23/31

If you're struggling with the movie reference just imagine a basket on front of the BMX, a little wrinkly alien in there, and the moon behind the bike and trees...

Tonight was a step forward in the potential of my website/magazine. You see, I'm a hideously shy individual. I tend to be able to hide it well, and simply force myself when it's necessary, but in general I'll avoid certain situations, like speaking to complete strangers.

Now when you're running an online magazine this can be a bit of a problem. So recently I've had a few words with myself, and riding home tonight (taking an out of the way route) I came across a group of lads on the 5-roads crossroads of a cycle route having a whale of a time off this little dirt jump. Normally I might have stopped for 10 seconds at most to watch then move on.

Tonight I stopped for a while then thought, what the hell. Grabbed the camera out the bag and asked them to show me exactly what they could do. Thing is, they were only too happy to have someone snapping away. I gave one of them a card for my website, and one of the shots may well be the mag cover next month.

It was a hard choice out of seven good shots for which one to use, starting here. In the end I liked the puff of dust and sun arc on this one... (looks better on Flickr - not sure why, maybe play around some more with the contrast and brightness on this)

Anyway, here's hoping this mini-turnaround will be capitalised on a bit more. And the changes to the website also continue (also filmed a pointless cycle lane on the way home which is going to end up on YouTube at some point, beginning a top/bottom 10 cycle lanes of Edinburgh countdown).

Rad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.