Meet Butterfly (aka Milkweed) Bunzini!

It is full-on summertime now, and we have at least one baby bunny in the yard. The new baby likes to hang out in front of the milkweed patch, and has been found everywhere around the yard. I've started calling it Butterfly Bunzini. My husband calls it Milkweed, after the milkweed patch that has nurtured so many little flying orange mothers (aka, monarchs). And now bunnies, apparently.

Whatever its true name is, it is an irascible little bun. It doesn't startle at all when we walk past it, and on this day, it sat among the milkweed and nibbled away, as I snapped photos. The bunny crawled along like a land shark, eating as much as possible, while outputting as little energy as possible. Good job!

Do you see that one tiny milkweed plant out in front of the patch? I almost pulled that one, thinking it made our yard look untidy. Milkweed does like to sprawl, doesn't it? But that plant seems to be Butterfly's favorite thing to hang out with now, so I'm glad I left it!

Oh yes, the butterflies here come in all shapes and sizes. . . .   ;-)

My soundtrack song is Kacey Musgraves, with Butterflies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.