A Day In The Life

By Irish59

YSNF

Say hello to the Yellow Shafted Northern Flicker, a variety of woodpecker common to Maine. I like the red shaped heart that marks the back of their heads. We hear their unique chirping call and the sound of drumming around the woods pretty much daily. Occasionally they do land on the grass to grab an ant, their favorite, or a grub but mainly they stick to the trees • I liked this image because it shows the yellow shafts on the wings. I’m not sure why he’s spreading his wings. Territorial? A signal to a parent he’s hungry (if a fledgling). Or a warning sign? Whatever the reason I find it interesting! I hope you do too :) • A busy day in the garden adding dirt to the potato bags, watering plants, plus weeding, of course. It was warm too at 81F but we take lots of breaks inside for both shade and hydration • Today’s January 6 Committee Hearing was cancelled • Peace & Love to you!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.