Mousehole Harbour 2500

I'm not sure how it happened, but I have apparently posted 2500 Blips. It has coincided with the last full day of my Cornish break as I headed back to the South coast and Porthcurno, home of the world famous Minack Theatre.

The  theatre (extra) is built on the cliffs.  I was astonished to discover that it was originally built over winter in 1931/32 by one woman, Rowena Cade, and her gardener Billy Rawlings to host an outdoor production of Shakespeare's The Tempest. She continued building and extending it well into her eighties, and died just before her ninetieth birthday in 1983. Although the structures of the stage and auditorium she built still remain, the theatre is still extending and developing to take full advantage of today's technology and meet the needs of today's audiences. 

It was then onto Mousehole Harbour for a wander and to partake of a Cornish ice cream cone.  I was drawn to the main image by the colourful canoes being reflected on the incoming tide.  It was fortuitous that RockArea's Wide Wednesday challenge was contrasting colours!

It just remains to say Thank You for looking at my journal over the years, and even commenting or dishing out stars and hearts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.