Hot hot hot! In the summerhouse.

I’m having a mid morning cuppa with a couple of biscuits, sitting in the armchair in the summerhouse with the doors wide open, and indeed all the windows.
There’s a moderate warm breeze blowing around, making the solar powered butterfly wind chimes hanging on the old apple tree, tinkle in the wind.
It is really too hot to go for a walk unless amongst trees.
I have more and more roses now flowering including my shrub ones. I always find it very rewarding after nurturing them from late autumn, then again through the early months of each year.
Last night I watered the garden once more in readiness for today.
Yesterday afternoon when I got back into the car at the Garden Centre after seeing Bobbie, it registered 33C and was baking hot!
I drove home with the windows fully down but it still didn’t go any lower than 29C. I found it difficult to sleep last night.
Even this morning the temperature in the kitchen showed 21C at 8.00 am.
I’ve been getting things ready for a wedding tomorrow. As in dress, shoes, bag. They’re in the spare bedroom. We have been asked to the rehearsal at 18:30 today as we are doing the Bible reading, sharing the passage between us.
It is at our old church Sutton Baptist in the afternoon, and after all this glorious weather heavy rain is forecast!
This is our fourth wedding since last October! So many were rearranged due to restrictions.
So here I sit enjoying the hedge sparrow rattling away with his song, the cheeps and chirps of the family of sparrows, and the sounds of children who are in the Nursery class across at school playing outside. They have a shaded all weather space.
The sky is an infinite blue, going on forever.
It is amazing to think that beyond the blue layer of our planet’s atmosphere it is just the blackness of outer space.
I have a new (recycled) book to begin.
Educated by Tara Westover, just sitting on my knee. I’m more likely to doze off!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.