My Boy Lollipop!

As some of you will know, I have been writing about memories involving music. Here's what I wrote about Millie Small's big hit.

"This was the bounciest, most joyous pop single I had heard up to that moment: My boy lollipop, you make my heart go giddy up. And mine too. It was so infectious and carefree that you had to bounce along to it. It was an energy bomb and I loved it. Millie Small was the little lady with the big voice. It didn’t matter that she was singing about a boy. All I felt was pure joy. And this was Jamaican ska, not that I knew it at the time. My Boy Lollipop was the first single I bought with my own money. It sold 7 million copies worldwide. Wha’ a lot a lollipop!"

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fMw4_QPDxPo

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.