Marbled

A glorious summer morning at Stonepit Close, part of The Wildlife Trust for Beds, Cambs & Northants Old Sulehay Reserve. It was pleasantly warm when I arrived  just after eight to find many Dark-green Fritillaries flying fast and low over the flowery sward, which contains a large population of the larval foodplant, Hairy Violet. I grabbed a record shot of the only one that settled close to me during my four hour visit. I also saw my first Marbled Whites of the year, which were marginally more obliging.

Viper's-bugloss, a stately plant with spikes of intense blue flowers was dazzling, while elsewhere vivid purple patches of Common Thyme contrasted with the gold of Bird's-foot-trefoil. However, possibly my favourite plant today was the delicate and understated Fairy Flax, drooping so gracefully. By the time I left I was also drooping in the heat...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.