Leaf fall

With plenty of trees around our boundary, we are used to having to sweep leaves in the autumn. But somehow we are always caught by surprise when there is another episode in the spring. We have three large evergreens which are now putting out new leaves and shedding the old ones. We have a holm oak, a ligustrum and, the one that has dropped these huge leaves, a magnolia grandiflora. These leaves are large and leathery, no good for the compost heap.
We have had a very hot day, so I was pleased to get my baking done early. I promised to make two fruit loaves for the WI stall at Village Day tomorrow. Later I put one of our new garden chairs under the trees and had a cross stitch session. I had trouble keeping control of the paper pattern in the strong breeze.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.