Moments in time

By Evie11

An afternoon at West Meadow Beach

I left work early since I was still feeling quite lighted headed from yesterday.  Hubby was home today. A summer thunder storm came through, it lasted less than an hour, but strong winds and took down some branches. We then packed up and went to the beach. This beach is a little further away. It is especially nice when the tide goes out and the sand dunes appear.
This beach is filled with wild life. When we first got there were at least 5 pairs of horseshoe crabs along the shoreline. There was a blackbird that kept coming right up to us, it was almost eerie how close he would come. I saw terns in flight and cormorants too. This beach has  an area roped off for piping plovers nests (they are endangered here) There were quite a few photographers with really huge lenses trying to capture them. I managed to get one with my little pocket camera, but I do need to come back with my real camera and a long lens. When you get close they move very quickly. As the tide went out I was able to get some shots of reflections. We didn’t wait for the sun to go down because it got very buggy, but it was a beautiful afternoon. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.