June is Butterfly Month too

The Weigela is in full bloom and is a butterfly magnet.  This is a White Admiral (Limenitis arthemis).  Unlike bees, butterflies and moths are accidental pollinators. They do not actively seek out pollen and do not have any specialized structures to help them transport pollen, but they still do their part in pollination, especially for wildflowers. Butterflies and moths visit flowers to drink the flower's sugary nectar.  They must really love the Weigela since I often see several varieties walking on the flowers.  Our beautiful weather continues with cool temperatures over the weekend.  In my Celtic Summer School class today, we travel to Iona and the Hebrides.  So far, we've been visiting places I visited on this last trip but giving me new insights to the locations.  I am enjoying it immensely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.