Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Misbehaving composites

Orange Hawkweed (Pilosella aurantiacum) + Chicory (Chicorium intybus)

Yes, these are two baaaad wildflowers!  I shot them both on a short Hazel walk this morning.

First the orange hawkweed, which is growing through the surface of the playground and crumbling its edges.  And secondly the chicory, which got me into trouble.  How dare it!  It's growing immensely tall on the banks of the Nuns' Stream outside Chalkpit Cottage Farm, and caused an unexpected reaction from the new householder who I truly believe thought I was a suspicious person 'loitering'.  Admittedly she did laugh when she realised what I was actually doing.

Apart from that I've gardened.  It feels really good to be able to do that again.  And it's been wonderfully cool, windy, cloudy and sunny with minor wetness.  Quite invigorating, in fact.

So that's my Saturday.  I hope yours has been good.  Have a great evening and a lovely Sunday  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.