Something Will Turn Up

We were looking through a box of sundry bits and pieces that we had acquired a few years ago when clearing the in-law’s house, and came across this little brass figure right at the bottom.
A bit of Googling (modern technology is good for some things!) revealed that it is probably a Victorian pipe tamper, modelled on the character Mr Micawber from David Copperfield. The £1 coin is to give some idea of size. We’ve not over polished it, just cleaned it up so it can stand with the other small ornaments fitted around the lounge.
A great gig last night apart from my new bass developing some sort of problem. As soon as I tried to turn it up, there was just a howl of feedback. Either the pickup has become microphonic or an earth wire has come adrift. The spare performed perfectly though, and I’ll take the faulty one back to the shop for an investigation in due course. Next week’s gig has been cancelled due to a cock up by the venue. Not too bothered as it was on a day I was coming back from London. At least I don’t have to dash out as soon as I get home now.
I could have done without the PT session this morning as I only got a few hours sleep after last night’s late finish, but got through it in the end - albeit I had to ask to delay the start to give me a chance to wake up properly!
I was going to just laze around for the rest of the day, but looking at the state of the lawn in yesterday’s blip photo, I have been shamed into dragging the lawnmower out of the garage and putting it to use.
And today’s blip title is Mr Micawber’s signature song from the musical “Copperfield”. Wikipedia informs me that this show opened on Broadway in April 1981. And closed ten days later after only 13 performances, probably not helped by the review from “Butcher of Broadway” Frank Rich, in the New York Times which is very scathing (although very amusing as well). All of which might explain why I’d never heard of it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.