Vasa

I'd hoped to lie in today, but was up at 07:30, so I set out to look for somewhere to buy breakfast, despite it being dull and drizzly. Until I found an open supermarket, it turned into a Turf-led exploration of the island where our hostel-boat is berthed. With И wanting a long lie-in, I headed into the city centre, where I saw some royal military pageantry, and toured a couple of pretty and interesting small islands. (See extras).

И joined me at the museum where the "Vasa" can be seen. It sank 1km into its maiden voyage in 1628, due to having too little ballast and too many guns, and was raised in 1961. It was very impressive and the background information was very well presented. We emerged to find that the weather had cleared completely, so we had a meal outside at the restaurant we went to last night. After that, we just strolled back to the hostel-boat, but may go out later, since it's light well beyond 11:00.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.