Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Cheeky ...

One of the first things I noticed when I eventually staggered downstairs this morning was how much my garden had changed in the few days I'd been away. Gone the wisteria blossom, gone the roses; in their place the orange lilies bought years ago in the supermarket and now more abundant than ever, the philadelphus, the stinking lilies (sorry - the yellow turk's cap lilies!) and the rosa rugosa. I thought it was a tad cheeky for them all to come out in my absence - and very bold in such grey and blustery weather. This morning was far from grey, but despite its allure I didn't even waken till 8.20am. Determined to have breakfast within a reasonable time frame I decided to leave shower and hair washing until I'd eaten it...

Three hours later I got into the shower. I suddenly remembered that this was the day I'd to renew my mobile phone contract. I've had my fingers burned before when I forgot to do this thing and realised I'd been paying over the odds for three months because they never bothered telling me, so today I was right on there without even washing up. It took at least an hour: I had to have an online texting session to sort out everything, and then screeds of contract stuff in my in box, but at least I seem to have saved a little money by catching the tail end of an offer. I also managed to make a hair appointment, and felt I'd earned that shower.

Rather late in the afternoon - like after 4pm - we got out. I was determined that I should have not only a decent leg-stretch after the long drive home yesterday but also a decent shot of my own new car. In the event I walked three miles at under 20mins per mile and drove home along a sufficiently long and varied bit of road to allow for me to change gears several times and feel the difference from the defunct diesel. 

Dinner had us opening a delicious bottle of Italian white - part of Himself's Fathers Day present from #1 son and family. I always feel guilty that I manage to share his presents more than he does mine of cosmetic items. Now I'm aching with tiredness again - I guess this is part of the ageing thing, to take so much longer to recover from events.

Blipping a collage of this morning's garden, full of colour and wind-blown perfumes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.