Discouraged

I spent some time with Lex this afternoon and then stayed for dinner with Doug's mom, whom he brought from her assisted living residence for a pizza night.  She's 90 now and feeling it, but she enjoyed the meal with us.

Lex has convinced me that there would be more drawbacks than benefits if I were to get a new (used) car, and I think she's right.  So my plan to shop for a hatchback has been shelved.  Also shelved is the possibility of peritoneal dialysis.  The logistics are just impossible.  I would have to store 30-40 ten pound boxes of dialysate pouches all the time.  During  dialysis the fluid drains into a disposal bag, which could weigh 50 pounds by the end of the night, so far heavier than I could manage; it also has no handholds to use when disposing of the liquid.  I don't have either the strength or the storage space.  So it will be in-center dialysis after all.  Not surprisingly, I'm feeling pretty low.

But tomorrow is Twinsday and I can't wait to see the boys.  I've missed them while I've been so weak.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.