Pelargonium ardens flowering on the patio table

I sat having my essential strongly percolated coffee this morning enjoying the delight of bright sunshine once again. A few weeks ago I had brought this potted pelargonium ardens from its overwintering site in the adjacent cabin. It will spend the rest of the summer outside and loves it. I have several other pots of cuttings from the same plant indoors, which means I can observe how they compare when living in the different conditions.

This is the first to flower although the leaf development is much less pronounced as if it is making a dash to flower while it can. I sense it might need a good feed. Each flower is only about 1cm in diameter. It is not often that you see a plant with its petals appearing nearly black in places. Its red colour has come out correctly.

All these P. ardens are relations of the first plant I bought about fifteen years ago in a small nursery near Malmesbury. It has remained one of my most favourite plants of all time. My friend Judy M. in Norfolk also keeps them and is of the same opinion.

I took this picture from where I sat which wasn't the best position as it was looking south towards the sun rising higher in the background. Hey ho.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.