A Plant Bug

I slept through the night again and was up and out of the house by 7.30 a.m. for a stroll along the wheat field to see what insects were about.

As it had rained heavily yesterday and overnight I was soon soaked by the dripping grass overhanging the trespassing footpath.  I really must proof my trousers and redo my boots.

There were lots of these beetles, both male and female, clinging to the grass, but apart from the odd fly and hoverfly I didn't see much else.  I did hear a cuckoo over towards the river, but too far to walk before breakfast (and I didn't have my face on because I hadn't washed or brushed my teeth).

There was a lot of singing going on up on the ridge, presumably a large group of lads doing their Duke of Edinburgh hike.  Sweet Caroline came through loud and clear.

This afternoon we've been over to see the family and haven't been back long.  It's decided to rain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.