Cosy Old Cardigan

By Stacebob

Back In The Day

Got some photos out today to swap some slightly faded ones from our wedding frame in the hallway, and happened across so many old memories. This particular picture, of me and my buddy Gayla on the last day of sixth form, actually made me a bit sad. See, I distinctly remember being bullied for basically my whole childhood for being fat and ugly, and so I'd convinced myself I must be fat and ugly if everyone sees that. Looking at this picture now, of a distinctly not-fat me, and knowing the flippin' decades of having a crap relationship with food, exercise and my body that came after this, I can't believe I ever let people convince me I was less than. Firstly, because even if I was fat, I was also still smart, caring, loyal, and kinda funny, and deserving of love and loving myself. Secondly, because it's genuinely upsetting to think how casually cruel kids and teens can be. Oof. Bit heavy for a Sunday, eh??

In other (better) news, more cross stitch progress has been made, I found some genuinely lovely and/or hilarious pictures, and the wedding photo frame looks great! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.