Perth to Gateshead

Backblip

It so happened coincidentally that Cameron and I were both travelling on the LNER Perth to London at 9:58 on Friday morning. I had a relatively short trip to Newcastle and he was heading down to London Kings X and then to Liverpool Street Station in the Metro then a train to Chingwell or Chingford for a get together for other members of the support team for South Korea. He wanted to do the journey himself and good for him, he did. He’s got his backpack on his back with the one man tent as they are all camping out. He will be roasted in sweaty London temps.

I had a book and such like with me but my table of four people was very sociable with a man and woman my age and one American from Colorado for part of the journey then another one from San Diego. We covered many topics in the three hours! At one stage I walked the whole length of the train to see Cameron and give him a tenner to spend as I was in the first class and he was in standard. It’s my first time in first class and it was so good with the food and drinks free. I got a very nice bacon roll and cuppa and a bottle of water when I got on and then later on the journey my lunch which was salmon, tats and green beans in a nice sauce for lunch! I feel this has spoiled me and will always want first class :)

Got to Newcastle at 1 then got a ticket at the machine for the Metro to somewhere where I then got the No 21 bus to Durham Road. C met me at the bus and we wandered down the hill to her house. She was working so I had another cuppa and then had a wander and then a cuppa in Costa.

We had a small meal in the evening a S then walked to the Angel of the North which was a half hour straight walk from her place. There was no one there which C said has never happened to her before! There was shrines to people in the trees beneath it.

We were shattered and were in bed just after 10! So good to see C again after so long . We met at SSE in 2017 and became good friends despite the age difference. We have many of the same ‘qualities’ and just got on well. G arrives tomorrow to complete the CGT Gang.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.