An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Father's Day...on Alan's terms :-)

The first thing David does when he gets downstairs in the morning, EVERY morning,  is cuddle Lola!  No tea or coffee is made, no bread popped into the toaster or cereal eaten, until the blonde bombshell is cuddled, kissed and had tummy rubs.

She obviously appreciates it as waiting for him this morning on the kitchen counter was a Father's Day card from her and a little gift of a mug.  She's such a thoughtful dog :-))

Alan also has a card and gift for him, but despite spending a lovely time together this afternoon, Alan has decreed he will give D his card and pressie "another day"  they were sitting right in front of him!  lol

Spent the afternoon painting the art commission. I was very nervous as I prepared to put the first wash of paint to paper but once that was out the way I relaxed and enjoyed painting.  

I had hoped to be finished today but it's quite a detailed scene and I have to wait for the paint to dry before adding more, so it's quite a slow process.  By 7pm the painting part was complete so tomorrow I will add the coloured pencil, ink, glitter pen and get it mounted.  

I'm looking forward to seeing it completed as at the moment it has that half done look about it that makes me nervous that the final result won't live up to my expectations.  But like a face only half made up, I am sure it will look fine once the rest of the makeup is on :-))

To celebrate Father's Day I made a dish from the Roasting Tin Around the World cookbook that I haven't made before - Crispy Pesto Chicken, Roasted Fennel and Courgettes.  It was absolutely delicious!  And there's fennel left over so think I'll make a fennel and orange salad tomorrow to accompany some Italian meats and cheeses for lunch.

My eyes are now closing but need to watch the end of the US Open.  It's exciting! :-)

P.S. Alan has now given D his card and gifts - a bottle of very nice red wine and a Fat Face voucher  so D is happy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.