An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Do not approach these women!

I knew there was no way we could come this far south without the Withers woman demanding to be entertained.  Thank God for Po.  Makes W's company bearable.

We met in Cirencester at 11.30.  It's 30 years since I was last there and my vague memory of the town was good and today's visit has left me even more impressed. 

We met at the Corinium Museum and what's the first thing one does when one enters a museum?  Yes that's right, head straight to the cafe actually it's the loo but I'll skip over that!

Coffee and something sweet was ordered as a precursor for the afternoon tea we had booked at Diversitea Cafe.

We then went round the museum.  It's very impressive.  I do have a thing for the Romans, having grown up playing on the site of a Roman Fort along the Antonine Wall (even my Blip name has Roman connections :-)  

After the museum we had a wander round the town.  There was an outdoor market that had some really impressive stalls, which complimented all the lovely shops.  So many independent shops and no shortage of places to eat / have coffee.  And for an ancient town I was SO impressed by how accessible it is.

Lovely wander in the Corn Hall too, more fab shops and an indoor market, before heading to Diversitea (situated in Corn Hall) for a very impressive afternoon tea of sandwiches (made with delicious soft bread) scones with jam and clotted cream, raspberry and coconut slices, chocolate brownies and a sweet fudgey thing (I didn't have that.  Too full!)  

Once fed, David excused himself and headed off to the local driving range, whilst we wandered around the rest of the shops (and revisited earlier ones) and went into the stunning St John Baptist Parish Church (I am still amazed the three of us weren't taken out by a bolt of lightening!) to see the beautiful stained glass windows (see extras) 

More wanderings then met up with D back at the car park (when we arrived I had a brief panic as I thought our car had been stolen, then remembered D would have gone to the driving range in it!  hahahahahaha! ) 

Final photos and hugs and then they were heading north and we were heading south.

A very civilised day reading back but only because I missed out "antics".  What happens in Cirencester stays in Cirencester...taps nose.  Actually holds nose but least said about that the better!  

  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.