SuffolkBumble

By SuffolkBumble

Camino Day 8: The Way to walk the Way

Portomarin to Palas de Rei - JBD = 24.8km

Todays blip was the toughest to choose. The main reason why I went for this shot is that the sensational sunrise that we experienced I am sure will be covered by Owen when he gets round to updating his blips. Instead I decided to focus on another aspect of the Way, not the beautiful scenery or the incredible visual side of it but instead the reasons why people may do it.

Everyone has a different reason for their own pilgrimage. Some are religious reasons. Some are spiritual. Some are seeking inspiration, while others are inspirational. Some do it for someone in particular, others for themselves, some for everybody they have ever known. People do it for almost any reason you could imagine, including some who do it to walk in the footsteps of that most famous Pilgrim of all....Martin Sheen.

But I think the most beautiful and satisfying way to walk the Way would be hand in hand with the one you love. I didn't get that pleasure but the unknown couple starring in this blip did. And for that I am so happy for them. What better way to enjoy the countryside, the walking, the evenings and the atmosphere than with someone who you want to spend every moment with?

I raise a glass to this couple, whoever they may be.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.