A day on the deck

A fairly normal day today, some sun, some cloud, some wind - but no rain, so far. My Blip today is of the first flower on my recently acquired Rhodochiton atrosanguineum, a climber from Mexico. Rather an Emergency Blip, but better than nothing!. 

Did some pricking off of more white foxgloves - as well as my intention to populate my bank with them my neighbour would like some and he also sells plants at his gate for charity, so that's a good way of getting rid of surplus plants. 

I planted out a few shrubs on the bank too. Nothing is simple here! I decided on a spot for my purple elder, grown from a cutting a couple of years ago from a neighbour, but the spade hit bedrock about one inch down, so I had to make a small bank with rocks and pile leafmould around the root ball. It will take hold as long as I remember to water it - which I've already forgotten! Maybe it will rain later!

I planted two winter jasmines on the bank below my trio of palms. Not the easiest place to plant as there's a fair drop and nothing much to hold on to! It's just a question of getting a really secure kneeling place and not doing anything in a hurry! I had to remove several ferns before I could do any planting - it will all look good in a few years, I hope!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.