My first sight of a Marbled White

Back to Middle Hope this evening - but at low tide this time - and for a longer (three hour) walk all the way to Sand Point. It was still warm enough for short sleeves as we headed home well after 8.00pm and the balmy breeze helped us to keep cool. At last I found butterflies - including a few Marbled White (Melanargia galathea), which I'd never seen before, so was especially pleased to catch one on camera, too. There were dozens of Meadow Brown (Maniola jurtina) and a goodly number of Painted Lady (Cynthia cardui). I also got a slightly blurred shot of a skylark singing its heart out high above our heads. And identified a wildflower whose name I knew, but that I'd never encountered before: Lady's Bedstraw (Galium verum). We walked through a flock of sheep and lambs, saw baby bunnies hopping around, and in the distance, the Severn Bridge was clearly visible, as well as Clevedon pier. The views in every direction were wonderful, hence the number of Extras

Walked about six-and-a-half miles and achieved over 15,000 steps - far more than usual, and so enjoyable!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.