Sunset on the day of the winter solstice

Should have checked. And been better organised. Went down expecting to have breakfast at 0600, and found the hotel restaurant in darkness. They don't open for breakfast until 06:30> They suggested I sit and wait but I didn't want to, and returned to the room.

Where I found S having failed to get the coffee machine to work. In trying to show her how to make it work, I merely showed my ignorance of this variation on the Nescafe system, and in the process used up the few capsules the hotel provided. 

A downtown supermarket nearby was already open so I walked there to get some coffee, and some milk for S. And got myself some yoghurt and muesli. Then off to the unit, and breakfast at work. Only, getting ready for the planning meeting with the nurseswas going to use up all the time I had available without taking time for the muesli and yoghurt.

That ended up being my lunch, instead.

Today was another full on day. But there was the bonus of staying in a hotel from where I could have a walk, and without difficulty see the colours and clouds of sunset to the west. 

The moment of the solstice is still to come; it is 21:13 on 21 June 2022. Earlier, I had walked to where I had a fantastic view of the sunset above the Harbour Bridge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.