Whistling, it caught my attention

Start of another working week; at least I won't be on call. I don't mind the phone calls for advice during the daytime, even though on occasions they can be very disruptive. I find that the task of giving advice about nuances of the Act has been made easier by having become a legal positivist while doing a paper on legal ethics a quarter of a century ago (that sounds so much longer than does 25 years). Before then, I thought (like many others) that one should try to make the law meet the perceived needs of the situation. Now, taking the approach that the law is the law as it is written (unless a higher court has determined differently), I answer most questions with a definitive answer, that may not please but solves the uncertainties staff have.

Got home with just enough daylight left to make a jog appealing. A simple and not long circuit to the top of Highfield Reserve, then down and around through bush paths, and then the donkey field back to the top. Then home.

Tried a handheld photo of the moon; a little too much shake. Then I heard the whistling of two Eastern Rosellas (illegal immigrants from Australia). One, with the typical complex whistle, was away off to the side and in a heavily treed place. The other was just beside me, and the whistler was quickly spotted due to few leaves being still on the tree.

Despite the low light, and the distance, and the back-lighting, I'm quite pleased with the result.

I have posted as an extra, a photo I took yesterday morning as the sun was rising from behind Tawharanui Peninsula, to cast a band of light across Kawau Bay. Today is the NZ winter solstice; the sun was rarely seen all day long. So my Sunday sunrise from yesterday is my acknowledgement of this year's winter solstice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.